About the project

The Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB, New German Biography) published by the Historical Commission at the Bavarian Academy of Sciences informs in brief, scholarly well-founded articles about deceased persons whose actions and work have had a substantial influence on political, economic, social, scholarly/ scientific, technical or artistic developments. The NDB with its original contributions signed by experts by name has been considered the single most relevant biographic encyclopedia of the German language and cultural area for decades. (read more)

The Deutsche Biographie is a service jointly managed by the Historical Commission and the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (BSB). Funded by a grant of the German Research Foundation (DFG), it has offered structured, lexical expert knowledge since February 2010, providing information about over 130,000 persons of the German-language cultural area. Currently, it includes digital full texts of more than 48,000 historical-biographical articles of the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB, General German Biography, 56 volumes, 1875–1912) and of the Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB, New German Biography, so far 24 volumes online, since 1953, Aachen to Stader), and, by means of links to certified services about these persons, provides access to authority data, articles from further biographic encyclopedias, sources, literature (among them the library resources of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, the Bavarian Union Catalog and the German National Library), as well as objects, works and portraits or catalog entries of these.

Further steps towards the expansion of the Deutsche Biographie to become a historical-biographic information system for the German-language area could be taken in the years 2012 to 2014 by the partners Historical Commission and Bayerische Staatsbibliothek on the basis of a further DFG grant.

By accelerating the pace of the GND cataloguing (common authority file) and cooperating with renowned national partner institutions, the number of searchable persons could be doubled within the project term, from 130,000 to around 260,000. Among other things, partner services such as the database of modern papers and the image archive of the German Federal Archives, the archived treasures of the German Literature Archive in Marbach, the object database of the Germanisches Nationalmuseum (Germanic National Museum), the image collections of the specialist portals operated by the Bildarchiv Foto Marburg (documentation center for art history) or broadcasts of the time of the Weimar Republic from the Deutsches Rundfunkarchiv (German Broadcasting Archive) could be incorporated now.

Searching is now also possible using a map-based, strongly extended and faceted search. Among the new features there are for the first time also presentation forms which become possible through computer-linguistic analyses, such as the graphic representation of ego networks, for example.

The Historical Commission and the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek have consistently continued the expansion of the Deutsche Biographie also in the time after this. On the basis of a further grant by the DFG, the following further central partner services were integrated up to 2016: the Berlin State Library (Kalliope), die Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences (Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte), the Academy of Sciences and Literature Mainz (obituary sermons, Regesta Imperii), the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and the Arts (Acta Pacis Westphalicae), the State Archive of Baden-Württemberg (LEO-BW), the Academy of Fine Arts Munich (digital edition of the matriculation books 1809–1930), the Deutsches Filminstitut, as well as the Saxon State and University Library Dresden (Deutsche Fotothek). The search instruments are further developed in parallel.

Literature:
Hans Günter Hockerts, Zertifiziertes biographisches Wissen im Netz. Die "Deutsche Biographie" auf dem Weg zum zentralen historisch-biographischen Informationssystem für den deutschsprachigen Raum, in: Akademie Aktuell 04/2012, p. 34f.

Project coordination

  • Professor Dr. Malte Rehbein (Passau), for the Historical Commission at the Bavarian Academy of Sciences
  • Klaus Kempf, Department Head at the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
  • Dr. Bernhard Ebneth (NDB)

Contributors at the Historical Commission (expansion phase 2012–2014)

  • Data-related programming: Matthias Reinert (responsible), Maximilian Schrott
  • Computer-linguistic analyses: Sophia Stotz, Valentina Stuß, Matthias Reinert
  • Academic assistants: Roxane Hagn, Julia Singer
  • Student assistants: Marinella Galic, Hanna-Maria Riesner, Dolores Sarancic

Members of the division Munich Digitization Center/ Digital Library of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek for the digitization, GND cataloguing and technical implementation.

The prototype for outputting the data in RDF was developed with the support of the research group of the University of Leipzig (Martin Brümmer, Thomas Riechert) within the framework of the EU project LOD2.

The project was implemented with the support of the German Research Foundation (DFG).

Please direct any questions and requests for corrections by e-mail to: info@deutsche-biographie.de.

Über das Projekt

Die von der Historischen Kommission bei der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften herausgegebene Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB) informiert in knappen, wissenschaftlich fundierten Lexikonartikeln über verstorbene Persönlichkeiten, die durch ihre Leistungen politische, ökonomische, soziale, wissenschaftliche, technische oder künstlerische Entwicklungen wesentlich beeinflußt haben. Für den deutschen Sprach- und Kulturraum gilt die NDB mit ihren von Experten namentlich gezeichneten Originalbeiträgen seit Jahrzehnten als das maßgebliche biographische Lexikon. (mehr)

Die Deutsche Biographie ist ein gemeinsames Angebot der Historischen Kommission und der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek (BSB). Es bietet, finanziert durch eine Sachbeihilfe der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), seit Februar 2010 strukturiertes lexikalisches Expertenwissen mit Informationen zu mehr als 130.000 Persönlichkeiten des deutschsprachigen Kulturraums. Zur Zeit umfasst es digitale Volltexte von mehr als 48.000 historisch-biographischen Artikeln der Allgemeinen Deutschen Biographie (ADB, 56 Bände, 1875-1912) sowie der Neuen Deutschen Biographie (NDB, online bisher 24 Bände, seit 1953, Aachen bis Stader) und erschließt durch Verlinkungen auf zertifizierte Angebote zu diesen Personen Normdaten, Artikel aus weiteren biographischen Lexika, Quellen, Literatur (darunter die bibliothekarischen Ressourcen der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek, des Bayerischen Verbundkatalogs und der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek) sowie Objekte, Werke und Portraits bzw. deren Nachweise.

Einen weiteren Ausbauschritt zur Entwicklung der Deutschen Biographie zu einem historisch-biographischen Informationssystem für den deutschsprachigen Raum konnten die Partner Historische Kommission und Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in den Jahren 2012 bis 2014 auf der Grundlage einer weiteren DFG-Förderung machen.

Durch die forcierte GND-(Gemeinsame Normdatei)-Erschließung und die Kooperation mit namhaften nationalen Partnerinstitutionen konnte die Zahl der recherchierbaren Personen im Projektzeitraum von 130.000 auf rund 260.000 Personen verdoppelt werden. Unter anderem konnten jetzt Partnerangebote wie die Nachlassdatenbank und das Bildarchiv des Bundesarchivs, die Archivschätze des Deutschen Literaturarchivs in Marbach, die Objektdatenbank des Germanischen Nationalmuseums, die Bildbestände in den vom Bildarchiv Foto Marburg betriebenen Fachportalen oder Sendenachweise zur Weimarer Republik aus dem Deutschen Rundfunkarchiv eingebunden werden.

Recherchen sind nun auch über eine kartenbasierte, stark erweiterte und facettierte Suche möglich. Unter den neuen Features befinden sich erstmals auch Präsentationsformen, die durch computerlinguistische Analysen möglich werden, wie z. B. die graphische Darstellung von Ego-Netzwerken.

Die Historische Kommission und die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek setzten den Ausbau der Deutschen Biographie auch in der Zukunft konsequent fort. Auf der Grundlage einer erneuten Förderung durch die DFG werden bis 2016 als weitere zentrale Partnerangebote integriert: die Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin (Kalliope), die Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften (Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte), die Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz (Leichenpredigten, Regesta Imperii), die Nordrhein-Westfälische Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste (Acta Pacis Westphalicae), das Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg (LEO-BW), die Akademie der Bildenden Künste München (Digitale Edition der Matrikelbücher 1809-1930), das Deutsches Filminstitut sowie die Sächsische Landesbibliothek - Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden (Deutsche Fotothek). Auch die Rechercheinstrumente werden parallel weiterentwickelt.

Literatur:
Hans Günter Hockerts, Zertifiziertes biographisches Wissen im Netz. Die „Deutsche Biographie“ auf dem Weg zum zentralen historisch-biographischen Informationssystem für den deutschsprachigen Raum, in: Akademie Aktuell 04/2012, S. 34f.

Projektkoordination

  •   - Professor Dr. Malte Rehbein (Passau), für die Historische Kommission bei der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  •   - Klaus Kempf, Abteilungsleiter der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek
  •   - Dr. Bernhard Ebneth (NDB)

Bearbeiter der Historischen Kommission (Ausbauphase 2012-2014)

  •   - Datenbezogene Programmierung: Matthias Reinert (verantwortlich), Maximilian Schrott
  •   - Computerlinguistische Analysen: Sophia Stotz, Valentina Stuß, Matthias Reinert
  •   - wissenschaftliche Hilfskräfte: Roxane Hagn, Julia Singer
  •   - studentische Hilfskräfte: Marinella Galic, Hanna-Maria Riesner, Dolores Sarancic

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Referats Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum/Digitale Bibliothek der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek für die Digitalisierung, GND-Erschließung und technische Realisierung.

Der Prototyp für die Ausgabe der Daten in RDF wurde mit Unterstützung der Forschungsgruppe AKSW der Universität Leizig (Martin Brümmer, Thomas Riechert) im Rahmen des EU-Projektes LOD2 realisiert.

Das Projekt wurde mit Unterstützung der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) realisiert.

Fragen und Korrekturhinweise bitte per E-Mail an: info@deutsche-biographie.de.